Featured post

Aldo Auto Portrait

Wednesday, 10 December 2008

Monday, 1 December 2008

Megan and Jamie McGurk

I have been currently working on a number of portraits recently.
A few weeks back I started sittings with Megan and Jamie,in their home in
the U.K. starting with studies in oil of both of them and then on to finish
them in my studio here,in France.One of the things that struck me about
them was their "closeness" and I really wanted to try and capture it ,
without being overly sweet.

Wednesday, 5 November 2008

Thursday, 18 September 2008

Tuesday, 5 August 2008

Solo Exhibition at The Catto gallery London September 16 th - 30 th

Most of the exhibition can be seen online,if you are interested in any work or would like a brochure please contact Iain,Imogen or Lanra
http://catto.co.uk/ 0044 207 435 6660

Sunday, 27 July 2008

Friday, 11 July 2008

Wednesday, 11 June 2008

Thursday, 22 May 2008

Laying Tables

That is better,I was losing the compositional shapes,I have added a couple under the billowing tablecloth.Making sure to keep it a similar tone to the background,so as to keep that negative shape that looks like a Picassoesque Dog's head!

"A painting is never finished only abandoned" I am leaving it loose, more loose than I
normally do.

Monday, 19 May 2008

Laying Tables 36 x 24"

I have abandoned this as it is starting to lose it's freshness. May be I will do some more work on it at a later date ?

Sunday, 11 May 2008

In Piazza San Marco 24 x 18 "

A composition I have used before that I wanted to improve upon.It is based on studies
done in Venice.

Thursday, 8 May 2008

Wednesday, 30 April 2008

Tuesday, 22 April 2008

Skinnydipping 30 x 20

I have always loved Zorn's outdoor nudes and wanted to try that same subject matter.
This was done from a series of studies that I did last September.

Sunday, 13 April 2008

Portrait commission of Hamish

I flew to London to meet Fergus and Hamish,
the subjects for two charcoal portraits.
This one is just finished(I think !)continuing
from the 2 hour sitting,I have refined the likeness
and modelling,with a sable brush,putty eraser and vine

Friday, 11 April 2008

Monday, 7 April 2008

Thursday, 3 April 2008

Monday, 10 March 2008

Monday, 3 March 2008


The painting measures 15 x 18" .The view is in Place du verdun,
just a two minute walk.It faces the sunset.I tried to capture the moment
when the light was quickly changing from yellow to orange.

Sunday, 17 February 2008

La riva degli schiavoni


Monday, 11 February 2008

Richard III

This portrait of Richard Smith was completed from
my 3-4 hours study and photo Reference.
I used very long brushes which allowed me to paint
from a distance of about 1m.It is something I used
a few years ago and it lends itself to a more painterly

Friday, 25 January 2008

Tuesday, 15 January 2008