Featured post

Aldo Auto Portrait

Tuesday, 27 November 2012


Sometimes it is nice to see a work unfinished , it can show a lot of clues to the method used .

Saturday, 17 November 2012

Justa little turps to begin . A few places have a turps/Stand oil mix
, to blend one stroke into another .

Friday, 16 November 2012

Painting in stages

I love the time of the day before the sun sets
, on a cloudless day .Everything is lit with an ultramarine / violet light . I will post these stages, that I had photographed at intervals . My palette was Tit. White, Cad yellow med, cad orange, Alizarin, cobalt violet, ultramarine, trans oxide red and ivory black . The canvas size is 14 x 11.

Monday, 5 November 2012

Oil on canvas 18 x 14 inches Jardin de pensées

Friday, 19 October 2012

Watercolour for a change of technique , hard to go back to after oils , the control is very difficult . Knowing when the paper is dry and putting the paint on at the right time is an art itself .

Friday, 12 October 2012

Place Carnot 70 x 50 cm

A recent painting of Place Carnot , around 8 am in October .

Friday, 14 September 2012

A better image !

Friday, 22 June 2012

Wednesday, 6 June 2012


I have a couple of places left on a workshop , it was arranged at short notice to accommodate a couple of artists . 25,26,27 th June in Castelnaudary France . Please email for further details .

Sunday, 8 April 2012


Enjoyed immensely meeting everyone ,exhausted at the end .

I have posted a quick demo that I did to explain tonal values and light and shadow .
I have added some marks whilst still wet .

Tuesday, 20 March 2012


Started out as a tonal study to solve some problems .

Wednesday, 25 January 2012

5 day figure painting workshop 31 March - 7 th April

I will be doing a 5 day figure painting workshop near carcassonne in the south of France . Accomodation will be in a beautiful country house in acres of land , self catering . www.La-prade.com
There will be 3 days painting the figure outdoors and 2 days in my atelier .

The price will be 540 euros for the weeks stay , 100 euros extra for a non painting partner and five days painting with a model ,demonstration and tutoring.

Please contact me for further details aldobalding@yahoo.co.uk

Monday, 23 January 2012


Here is a link to my recent interview at my Cape Town exhibition


Wednesday, 11 January 2012

Tuesday, 10 January 2012